

Yellow Fever Vaccination Centre All India institute of Medical sciences Bhubaneswar

- ✓ Venue: Room No- 52, Block C, OPD complex.
- ✓ Vaccination is provided on every Monday & Thursday (working day).
- ✓ Registration timing: 07.30 AM to 11.30 AM.
- ✓ Vaccination will be provided from 10.30 AM to 12.30 PM.
- ✓ Contact no. 0674 2476789.
- ✓ The vaccination charges as approved by MoHFW is **Rs. 300/- per dose.**
- ✓ Passengers are requested to bring original Passport for verification.
- ✓ Following Medical Officers are available in the centre for Yellow Fever vaccination
 - Prof. Vikas Bhatia : Nodal Officer
 - Dr. Swayam Pragyan Parida: Additional nodal officer

Yellow Fever Vaccination Centre in AIIMS Bhubaneswar has started w.e.f **24**th **April 2015**. This is the only centre for the state of Odisha.

ION REGARDING YELLOW FEVER VACCINATION

- 1. PRODUCE PASSPORT IN ORIGINAL FOR VERIFICATION
- 2. DEPOSIT RS. 300/- AT THE CASH COUNTER & COLLECT THE RECEIPT

PLEASE WAIT FOR 30 MINUTES AFTER VACCINATION 3.

TRAVEL DOCUMENT & YELLOW FEVER VACCINATION CERTIFICATE WILL BE GIVEN TO

4.

PASSENGERS AFTER ENSURING NO REACTION POST-VACCINATION

5. RECEIVE YELLOW FEVER VACCINATION CRTIFICATE ONLY IF IT IS COMPLETE IN ALL ASPECTS

What is Yellow Fever?

Yellow fever is a viral disease transmitted by infected mosquitoes. Clinical picture varies from mild febrile illness to severe disease with jaundice and bleeding manifestations. The death rate in severe YF disease might reach 50%. It is difficult to diagnose during the early stages as clinical picture can be confused with severe malaria, dengue hemorrhagic fever, leptospirosis, viral hepatitis etc. There is no specific treatment for yellow fever and **Vaccination** is the most effective measure against yellow fever.

How does the vaccine protect from YF?

The vaccine is safe and highly effective and protective immunity is achieved within 30 days for 99% of persons vaccinated. A single dose of yellow fever

vaccine is sufficient to confer sustained immunity and life-long protection against yellow fever disease.

Yellow Fever & India

Yellow fever cases are not detected in India but factors are conducive because of the presence of abundant Aedes mosquito and a large susceptible population. So Govt. of India has been maintaining strict vigil on international movement of passengers to prevent entry of Yellow Fever virus.

ADVISORY FOR PASSENGERS COMING/RETURNING TO INDIA FROM YELLOW FEVER ENDEMIC COUNTRIES

- All the International travellers arriving in India within 6 days of departure from any yellow fever endemic country are required to possess (in original) a valid yellow fever certificate of vaccination from approved Yellow fever vaccination centre.
- Any passenger arriving in India from any yellow fever endemic country without a valid yellow fever vaccination prophylaxis certificate in original, will be treated as suspects of carrying the Yellow fever Virus in their body and are quarantined.
- The period of quarantine is limited for 6 days and the period is counted from the time of departure of the passenger from the Airport in the endemic country or till the time YF vaccination becomes valid (whichever is less).

"Under any of these quarantine rules, "No diplomatic immunity exists."

COUNTRIES WITH RISK OF YELLOW FEVER TRANSMISSION YELLOW FEVER VACCINATION SIDE EFFECTS

Mild reactions include

- Aches, soreness, redness, swellings where shot was given
- Slight sore arm
- ➤ Headache, muscle ache, fever for 24 hrs starting 3-9 days after vaccination Serious reactions are rare. A person is requested to wait for 30 minutes after vaccination.

CONTRAINDICATIONS (CONDITIONS IN WHICH VACCINE SHOULD NOT BE GIVEN)

- Allergy to vaccine component i.e. egg, chicken proteins or gelatin.
- Age < 6 months
- Symptomatic HIV infection or CD4 +T-lymphocytes
 < 200/mm3 (<15% of total in children aged <6 years)
- Thymus disorder associated with abnormal immune function
- Primary immunodeficiency
- Malignant neoplasms □ Transplantation

AFRICA			CENTRAL & SOUTH AMERICA
Angola	Guinea	Niger	Argentina
Benin	Ethiopia	Nigeria	Brazil
Burkina Faso	Gabon	Rwanda	Bolivia
Burundi	Gambia	Senegal	Ecuador
Cameroon	Ghana	Sierra Leone	French Guiana
Central African	Guinea-Bissau	Sudan	Guyana
Republic			
Chad	Kenya	South Sudan	Panama
Congo	Liberia	Togo	Paraguay
Côte d'Ivoire		Uganda	Peru
Democratic Republic	Mali		Suriname
of the Congo			
Equatorial Guinea	Mauritania		Trinidad and Tobago
			Venezuela